About Navigate

Navigate is a suite of advising tools combining advising services, real-time data, analytics, and reporting to help advisors identify students in need of support and provide early interventions.  Navigate is a product of the Education Advisory Board (EAB), as part of their Student Success Collaborative.  EAB explains the Student Success Collaborative below.

The Student Success Collaborative is a partnership of more than 550 colleges and universities working together to improve student outcomes and the student experience. Partners of the Collaborative use EAB’s Student Success Management System, Navigate, a comprehensive technology that brings together administrators, faculty, advisors, and staff to support students from enrollment to graduation and beyond. - EAB Website

The platform features:

  • Advising/tutoring reports and notes to document interactions with students and other relevant information such as forms submitted or graduation planners
  • Appointment scheduling and appointment campaigns to streamline scheduling with students, including reminder emails and text messages to students
  • A kiosk mode for front desk operations
  • Progress reporting that allows faculty to provide updates and identify students who may be in need of additional support
  • A coordinated referral network that closes the loop of the referral
  • Advanced search tools 
  • Reporting functionality
  • Data analytics

The student facing features include:

  • Scheduling appiontments with advisors, tutors, and other academic support staff
  • Appointment reminders
  • View & contact their success team
  • View their class schedule & upcoming appointments

University of Miami Navigate Teams

Purpose & Responsibilities of the Specialists Group:

  1. Serve as ears and voice for respective unit
  2. Help establish internal best practices within unit (and share out!)
  3. Share new release information/features with their respective departments
  4. Front line of support for unit on Navigate challenges
    • Address basic usage questions among end users in the unit
    • Provide basic training for new staff members

Flow of addressing Navigate issues:

  1. Visit the Navigate Resource Center for guides and trainings
  2. Ask your unit’s specialist(s)
  3. After consulting your unit's specialist(s), submit a ticket to learningplatforms@miami.edu

 

School/College/Department First Name Last Name Email Address
Athletics Academic Services Demetreus Dearden ddarden@miami.edu
Athletics Academic Services Heather Koutrakos de la Osa h.koutrakos@miami.edu
Camner Center for Academic Resources Roopa Dominguez r.parasuraman1@umiami.edu
Camner Center for Academic Resources April Johnson axj756@miami.edu
College of Arts & Sciences  Paul Bongarzone bongarzone@miami.edu
College of Engineering Cassandra Sierra csierra@miami.edu
College of Engineering Ram Narasimhan ram@miami.edu
Division of Continuing and International Education Monica Bunsen m.bunsen@miami.edu
Division of Continuing and International Education Jessica Klauer-Martinez j.klauer@miami.edu
Dean of Students Office Sarah Naturman snaturman@miami.edu
Division of Student Affairs Jennifer Rau jrau@miami.edu
Frost School of Music Eva Alonso eva.alonso@miami.edu
Learning Commons Roxane Pickens rpickens@miami.edu
Learning Commons Lisa Baker lbaker@miami.edu
Learning Commons Kelly Miller kelly.miller@miami.edu
Learning Commons Lauren Fralinger l.fralinger@miami.edu
Learning Commons Adrian Legaspi axl641@miami.edu
Learning Platforms Rick Ramos r.ramos3@miami.edu
Miami Herbert Business School Jeanne Batridge jbatridge@bus.miami.edu
Miami Herbert Business School  Ellen McPhillip emcphill@bus.miami.edu
Office of Academic Enhancement Whitley Johnson wmj13@miami.edu
Office of Academic Enhancement  Michael Stokes m.stokes1@miami.edu
Office of Academic Enhancement Chris Doell cdoell@miami.edu
Pre-Health Career Advising & Mentoring Arnose Byfield abyfield@miami.edu
Rosenstiel School of Marine & Atmospheric Sciences Marjorie Oleksiak moleksiak@rsmas.miami.edu
Rosenstiel School of Marine & Atmospheric Sciences Whitney Nolton wnolton@rsmas.miami.edu
School of Architecture Nicole Hejazi Geb Damalts nhejazi@miami.edu
School of Architecture  Danay Morales danaymorales@miami.edu
School of Communication Paul Driscoll pdriscoll@miami.edu
School of Communication Luis Herrera lherrera@miami.edu
School of Communication Bethany Angiolillo b.angiolillo@miami.edu
School of Education & Human Development Exposito Alyssa a.exposito@miami.edu
School of Education & Human Development Genene Applewhite gpa6@miami.edu
School of Education & Human Development Gina Astorini gfastorini@miami.edu
School of Law Amy Perez aperez@law.miami.edu
School of Nursing & Health Sciences Shirley Rodriguez sxr1097@miami.edu
Study Abroad Anna Kenney anna@miami.edu
Toppel Career Center Carly Smith carly@miami.edu
Undergraduate Research Drew Christensen drc151@miami.edu

The UM Application Administrators group oversees the day to day operational outcomes and maximizing UM's use of EAB's Navigate product.

Name Office/Department Area
Kendee Franklin Office of the Provost Strategic outlook
Michael Stokes Office of Academic Enhancement Functionality, leveraging usage, strategic outlook
Peter Martinez UMIT Academic Technologies Data, technical issues
Christopher Doell Office of Academic Enhancement Strategic outlook

The UM Navigate Leadership Team is responsible for identifying long-term; University-wide strategy, policies, and oversight of the partnership with EAB.

Name

Department/School/College

Kendee Franklin

Office of the Provost

Michael Stokes

Office of Academic Enhancement

Peter Martinez

UM Information Technology

Chris Doell

Office of Academic Enhancement

Jeanne Batridge

Miami Herbert Business School

Emily Long

College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Frank Azuola

UM Information Technology

Allan Gyorke

UMIT Academic Technologies

Jenny Vargas

Office of the Registrar

Dr. Jennifer Rau

Division of Student Affairs

Dr. Maria Stampino

Office of the Provost